Janet Jagan memorial road race on today

The absence of some of the country’s top cyclist including the inform Alanzo Graves means that today’s Janet Jagan Memorial 50-mile road race is an open affair.

Greaves, Orville Hinds, Godfrey Pollydore and Raynauth Jeffrey will be in action today at the Caribbean Cycling Championships in Curaco and as such cyclists such as Paul de Nobrega winner of the recent Kadir Mohammed Memorial Ounce of Gold race,  Paul Choo Wee Nam, Marlon `Fishy’ Williams, Robin Persaud, Albert Philander, Warren McKay and Eric Sankar could fancy their chances to win the event which is being sponsored by  CARICOM Cement Incorporated. Naomi Singh, who did not make the trip to Curaco is tipped to win the women’s category.

Today’s 50-mile race is being coordinated by  the Goed Fortuin PPP Group and gets underway at 8am and will commence outside the Wales Police Station.

The Open and junior category riders  will turn back at Bushy Park, East Bank Essequibo  and finish at the Demerara Harbour Bridge while the veterans, mountain bikers and ladies will turn back at the Uitvlugt Community Centre and also finish at the Demerara Harbour Bridge.

The first six finishers in the open category as well as the first three juniors, first three veterans, first three ladies and first three mountain bikers will receive prizes.

Eight prime prizes will also be up for grabs during the event.The race is being organized by national cycling coach, Hassan Mohamed in memory of the late Jagan, former President of the Republic of Guyana.

Around the Web