Stephen Fernandes wins Janet Jagan Memorial 50-mile race

Stephen Fernandes won the first prize in the open category of the inaugural Janet Jagan Memorial 50 mile Cycle Road Race which was staged on the West Coast of Demerara on Sunday.

Organized by the PPP/C Goed Fortuin group, Fernandes easily won the race ahead of John Charles and Erick Sankar, stopping the clock at approximately two hours, two minutes and 94 seconds.

Rounding out the top five positions were Guyana’s Caribbean Junior Road race champion Paul DeNobrega, Marlon `Fishy’ Williams and Junior Niles respectively.

Turan Harris relegated Talim Shaw and Shameer Baksh to the second and third positions respectively in claiming the veterans’ division while Ozia McCulley was victorious in the mountain bike category, defeating Stefon Husbands and J. Melville who placed second and third correspondingly.

Naomi Singh won the ladies/juveniles category while Ravel Leung and Jamal John came in second and third respectively. Hamza Eastman was the first junior to cross the finish line whist Alonzo Ambrose and Shakiel Agard was second and third correspondingly.

Around the Web