Barnwell, Johnson lead DCC, GCC to T20 wins

Brutal knocks from Christopher Barnwell and Leon Johnson steered their respective teams Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) and Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) to wins yesterday when the GCA/Carib Beer sponsored first-division T20 tournament continued across venues in the city.

Batting first DCC rocketed to 111 for 3 in their seven overs after Banrwell struck 10 masssive sixes and a four in his knock of 72. He was supported by Brian Sattaur  who made 19. Bowlers Royston Simons, Krishna Arjune and Rawle Merell picked up a wicket each.

Chasing a huge total, GNIC were strangled at 39 for 6 after bowling efforts from Dennis Squires 2 for 9 and his colleagues who grabbed one each. Marc Nicholoson made a fighting (19).

Over at the Police ground Eve Leary, the officers failed to aprehend the suspects from the Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC), going down by 8-wickets in their encounter.

West Indies ‘A’ left-hander Johnson clobbered seven fours and four maximums in his score of 61. He was involved in a third-wicket 113-run stand with the returning Ramnaresh Sarwan who hit one six and one four in his 28, which took GCC to 117 for 2.

Earlier, PSC made 116 for 4 in 14 overs with the Essequibo pair of Rayon Fredericks (41) and Jason Heyliger (33) being the top scorers. Johnson, Raj Nannan, Jamal Anderson and Joshua Wade picked up one wicket apiece.

Over at Gandhi Youth Organisation ground (GYO), Transport Sports Club (TSC) lost by five-wickets to the home team.

TSC 148 for 8 in their 18 overs, compliments of Oslyn Batson’s 51 and Stephen Alves 24. Leon Scott grabbed 3 for 20.

GYO chased their target ending with 152 for 5 in 17.5 overs. Kwame Crosse (34) and Surendra Heralall (43). Jonathan Alphonso snared 3 for 30.

Playing at home, Malteenoes Sports Club (MSC) defeated Everest Cricket Club by 35-runs. Fast-bowler Kellon Carmichael (20) continued to impress with the bat, while the brothers Naughton, Kareem (20), Keifer (14) and Vishal Narayan (17), took MSC to 123 for 7.

Troy Gonsalves 2 for 26 and A Mohamed 3 for 21, were the main wicket-takers. Everest then crumbled to 88 all out in 15.3 overs after Cordel Mars’s 4 for 18.

Around the Web