East Coast teams eliminate remaining two West Demerara teams

West Demerara’s participation in the 2nd Annual Stag Beer Super XVI Knockout Championship came to an end as Victoria Kings and Ann’s Grove secured contrasting quarterfinal wins over Uitvlugt Warriors and Beavers respectively on Saturday.

With West Demerara heavyweights Pouderoyen and Den Amstel already booted from the event following losses to Grove Hi-Tech and Mahaica Determinators respectively, a similar fate befell both sides at the Golden Grove ground.

Victoria Kings continued to highlight their championship pedigree as they downed Uitvlugt Warriors by a 1-0 score line.

Alden Lawrence
Alden Lawrence

With the fixture heading towards the extra time interval following a scoreless contest, Alden Lawrence made his presence felt as he grabbed the go-ahead winner with only six minutes remaining in normal time.

Lurking within the penalty box awaiting a Calvin DeSouza corner kick, Lawrence pounced on a loose ball after a Winston Pompey header was parried into his path by the keeper, before smashing his left footed effort into the back of the net.

With the result, Victoria Kings will lock horns with defending champ Grove Hi-Tech in the semi-final round tomorrow.

Meanwhile, last year’s losing finalist Ann’s Grove stormed their way into the final four after dismantling Beavers by a 4-0 margin. Andrew Murray started the rout as he found the back of the net in the 22nd minute.

It quickly became 2-0 as Kevon Barry added his name to the scorer’s sheet with a 35th minute attempt. The contest was basically over in the first period Anil Hernandes scored seven minutes onward.

Shafeer Sanichara then completed the rout in the second stanza, netting though a 53rd minute conversion. Due to the win, Ann’s Grove will setup a showdown with fellow East Coast of Demerara unit Mahaica Determinators in the semi-final round tomorrow.

Winner of the tourney will pocket $1,500,000 and the championship trophy while the second, third and fourth place units will receive $500,000, $300,000 and $200,000 respectively and the corresponding accolade.

Around the Web