GCF national c/ships dates set

The Guyana Cycling Federation (GCF) will stage its flagship event, the National Cycling Championships on June 18, 19 and 26.

Guyana’s best wheelsmen campaigning here and overseas are expected to compete at the prestigious event which crowns the national cycling champion and earns him automatic selection for any overseas competitions to represent Guyana.

This year, the championships comes with a twist as the the Road Race for the elite riders will be held eight days after the Time-Trial rather than the customary day apart.

20160604GCFThe Time Trials for all categories (juniors, veterans, elite and ladies will be held on June 18 at the Mahaicony Circuit, starting at 08:00hrs.

One day later, the Road Race for Juniors, veterans and Ladies will be held at the same venue from 11:00hrs.

Juniors and Veterans will race for 50 miles (8.5 laps), while the ladies will compete for 25 miles.

The big boys will saddle up on June 26 on the outer circuit of the National Park in the grueling 75-mile event (30 laps) which starts at 11:00hrs.

Defending champion, Hamza Eastman, 2014 winner, Geron Williams along with Raynauth Jeffrey, Scott Savoury, Chris Holder, Jamal John and Stephano Husbands are all currently campaigning on the US circuit but are expected to compete at the championships.

Orville Hinds and his Team Evolution team mates, Marlon Williams, Michael Anthony, Raul Leal and Akeem Wilkinson are all expected to be at the front of the peloton on race day.

Around the Web