Sparta Boss, Globe Yard through to quarterfinals

Defending champion Sparta Boss and Globe Yard were among the sides to clinch quarterfinal berths when the round of 16 stage of the Ministry of Health/Petra Organization Soft Shoe championships commenced Thursday.

Under wet conditions at the Santos Training Area, Square of the Revolution, the holders squeaked past Albouystown 4-2.

Gregory Richardson broke the deadlock for the titlist in the second minute, lashing a free-kick off the left upright and into the net from the centre of the field.

Devon Millington made it 2-0 one minute onward, blasting a powerful effort from the right side into the top right corner. With the score remaining unchanged at the start of the second period, Kemo Scott pulled back one back in the 22nd minute as he stabbed the ball just over the goal-line from the right side of the box.

The sizeable crowd was then brought to life as Scott leveled proceedings in the 25th minute through a simple header unchallenged with the goalkeeper on the floor, after a right side cross was deflected into his path, in the process sending the fixture into extra time.

It was at this point where the champs outlasted their foe, snatching the lead in the 31st minute under fortuitous circumstances as a Millington strike from centre went through the grasp of the custodian and into the net. Richardson sealed the result two minutes later, slotting home from the right side into the centre after collecting a left side pass from Millington.

Meanwhile, Globe Yard defeated North Ruimveldt 3-1. Delon Lanferman gave Globe Yard the lead in the ninth minute with a powerful right foot volley from centre into the left side.

Andrew Murray Jr. doubled their lead one minute later compliments of a diving header down the centre after collecting a lobbed pass inside the area.

The score increased once more as Lanferman scored his second in the 11th minute, blasting a powerful right foot strike into the roof of the right side.

Gerald Gittens eventually pulled one back for North Ruimveldt in the 27th minute, dribbling his marker and the onrushing goalkeeper while cutting in from the left side before slotting into the right corner.

In other results, Tucville dismantled Campbellville 6-2. Tefon Daly recorded a hat-trick in the 12th, 14th and 25th minute while Dennis Edwards scored a double in the fourth and 13th minute and Rafael Edwards netted in the 28th minute.

Netting in the loss were Marlon Nedd and Ozeal Small in the second and fifth minute  Also, Broad Street downed Channel-9 Warriors 3-1. Jamal Cozier scored a brace in the 21st and 22nd minute while Jimmy Gravesande netted in the 25th minute. On target in the loss was Stephen McLean in the 18th minute. Action in the event is set to continue today at the Ministry of Education ground with four matches.

In the opening fixture at 20:00hrs, North East La Penitence will oppose Holmes Street Tiger Bay while Kitty Weavers will tackle Leopold Street from 20:45hrs.

The third matchup will pit Queen Street Tiger Bay against Alexander Village from 21:30hrs while Sophia will face-off with West Front Road from 22:15hrs.

The winning team will collect $300,000 and the championship trophy while the second placed side will receive $200,000 and the runners-up accolade.

On the other hand, the third placed side will receive $100,000 and the respective trophy while the fourth place finishers will pocket $50,000 and the corresponding title.

On the individual side, prizes will be awarded to the event’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) and Highest Goal Scorer. Other sponsors of the event include the Ministry of Public Health, GTT, Lucky Dollar, Nigel Supermarket, Junior’s Jewellery, Star Party Rentals and 2-J’s General Store.

Around the Web