New Linden power company board installed

The new board of the Linden Utility Company was sworn in yesterday and Minister of Public Infrastructure David Patterson used the occasion to call for an improvement in quality electricity supply to the mining town.

According to a statement issued by the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, the new board comprises Tracy Johnson, who is Chairman; Elwyn Marshall, Mortimer Mingo, Horace Williams, Leslie Gonsalves, and Renford Homer, who is serving as a representative of the Guyana Power and Light Company Inc (GPL). A member representing the parliamentary opposition is yet to be appointed.

In brief remarks to the board, the statement said, Patterson encouraged the new members to dedicate their time diligently and to work with a unified agenda. He also stressed the importance of innovation and suggested that the board undertake new, feasible avenues, such as implementing renewable energy projects where necessary. “Overall, I want you to provide a higher level of service to the residents of Linden,” he was quoted as saying.

The statement added that representatives of the utility company were also praised for successes, such as relatively low technical and commercial losses and an impressive revenue collection rate higher than 90%.

While Patterson noted that there was room for improvement, he applauded the company for its efforts and encouraged the board to aim for greater achievements.

Representatives also said that the company has plans to upgrade its decades-old network through the rehabilitation or replacement of equipment.

Meanwhile, Mayor of Linden, Carwyn Holland, who was present for the ceremony, shared with Patterson some areas where the town would need assistance from the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, such as the provision of electricity to unserved areas. Insufficient drainage within communities were also raised as an area of concern, the statement added.

Around the Web