Titanic Futsal quarter-final matches on tonight at National Gymnasium

Sparta battles Future Stars, Tucville opposes Back Circle, Sophia engages Bent Street and Broad Street tackles Albouystown tonight in titanic quarter-final matches at the National Gymnasium, in the Xtreme Cleaners/GT Beer Gold Rush Futsal Championship.

The opening match at 20:00hrs will set the tone for the evening’s proceedings as undefeated Albouystown battles traditional giant Broad Street.

Flashback-Omallo Williams of Sophia skips past Sheldon Shepherd of Sparta Boss during the final group round matchup at the National Gymnasium in the Xtreme Cleaners/GT Beer Futsal championships.

Group-B victors Albouystown has been a revelation in the event following a perfect record in the group stage where they scored notable wins against Back Circle and Tiger Bay.

Offensively, Albouystown has recorded 10 goals in four games with the duo of Lennox Cort (four goals) and Roy Cassou (three goals) recording a combined seven conversions.

Flashback-Lennox Cort (left) of Albouystown tussles with Gerald Gittens of North Ruimveldt for possession of the ball at the National Gymnasium in the Xtreme Cleaners/GT Beer Futsal championships

The other three goals have come off the boots of Melvorn Ross, Devon Dooker and Moses Gittens respectively. Defensively, Albouystown has only conceded three goals an impressive feat which is the joint best record among the remaining teams.

For Broad Street, the tournament has been a struggle, highlighted by two wins and as many losses. The statistics are evidence of their inconsistency especially on the defensive end with 10 goals scored against them.

On the attacking end, Broad Street, who secured their quarter-final berth as a third place qualifier, has also scored 10 goals, albeit in five matches due to a playoff fixture.

Daniel Favourite has netted four times while Darren Benjamin has three goals. Siblings Jimmy and Rocky Gravesande have netted two and one goal apiece.

The second ‘Elite Eight’ fixture will pit group-C winner Bent Street against third place qualifier Sophia from 20:30hrs.

The revamped and youthful Bent Street unit has been a scoring threat from the tourney’s inception, tallying 14 goals via nine different scorers.

Daniel Wilson, Travis Lyken and Job Caesar are the leading scorers with three goals each, with Konata Manning next on the list with two goals.

The other three conversions have been recorded by Sheldon Profit, Okeene Fraser and Keith Caines. In terms of their rearguard, Bent Street has been breached eight times.

Inconsistency best illustrates the campaign of Sophia. Despite being blessed with a formidable strike-force, only eight goals have been created, which is the worst record currently.

Omallo Williams, Dwayne Lowe and Desmond Cottam has netted two goals respectively with Joshua Kamal and Shem Arthur rounding out their offence.

The backline has fared a little better, with seven goals conceded. The third showdown will witness group-B runner-up Back-Circle locking horns with group-A winner Tucville from 21:00hrs.

Statistically, the young Back Circle unit is the event’s most balanced team. Twelve goals indicate a very capable forward line, with Selwyn Williams, Jermaine Beckles and Jamal Adams scoring four, four and three strikes respectively.

Curtez Kellman is the owner of the other goal. Defensively, they possess the joint best record with only three goals conceded.

Their opponent Tucville, has evolved into a free scoring side, with the second best record of 14 conversions in their possession.

Jermaine Junior, Ryan Hackett and Jahaal Greaves have scored four, three and two goals, while Raphael Edwards, Delon Williams and Dennis Edwards has netted two, one and one goal apiece.

However, for a side noted for their defensive discipline, it has been an uncharacteristic campaign after allowing 11 goals thus far.

The final fixture can easily be the game of the night, when the tourney favourite and group-A second place finisher Sparta Boss, engages group-C runner-up Future Stars.

Despite the strong showings of Future Stars, Sparta Boss will start, as the favourite due to their experience and overall quality.

Ten goals have been recorded by an offence that features the likes of Devon Millington, Gregory Richardson and Eusi Phillips, scorers of three goals each. Defender Solomon Austin has netted once.

Defensively, Sparta have masked their struggles, with six goals conceded led by the indispensable Sheldon Shepherd.

Future Stars, on the other hand, will fancy their chances of scoring against any opposition, as they are the owners of the event’s best forward line with 15 goals.

Keron Solomon, Akeemo Anthony and Jamal Cozier have netted four, four and three goals respectively, with Kevin Cummings, Ralph Parris and Jeremy Garrett recording two, one and one goal each.

For a side loaded with many attacking pieces, Future Stars has only allowed seven conversions. The semi-final round kicks off on Thursday June 15th, with the winner of quarterfinal one opposing the victor of quarterfinal four.

Victors of quarter-finals two and three respectively will face-off in the other semi-final encounter. The tourney’s final is slated for June 17th.

Winner of the tournament will pocket $500,000 and the championship trophy. On the other hand, the runners-up will receive $200,000 and the respective accolade.

The third and fourth place finisher will pocket $100,000 and the $50,000 respectively and the corresponding accolade. On the individual side, $50,000 will be awarded to the Most Valuable Player (MVP).

Other sponsors of the event include Fas Grafix, Jefford’s Distribution and Sales, Giftland Distribution Store and FARMSUP Mining Investments Inc..

Around the Web