Night of upsets as Guinness Cage football tourney gets underway

It was a night of upsets as Sophia, Dave and Celina’s All-Stars, North East La Penitence, Tucville and Broad Street were sent packing, when the inaugural Guinness ‘Cage’ Football Championship commenced on Tuesday.

The biggest upset of the night, which was viewed by the large crowd at the National Gymnasium on Mandela Avenue, saw Meadowbrook Kings (MBK) All-Stars dismantling Sophia 3-0.

The contest was effectively over in the first half after Peter George, Oswald Cornette and Kevon Lythcott scored in the fourth, eighth and 10th minute respectively.

In other results, Pike Street eliminated Guinness National Street Football Champions Dave and Celina’s All-Stars 2-0 on penalty kicks, after the game ended scoreless at the end of normal time.

Similarly, Mocha downed North East La Penitence 1-0 on penalty kicks, following a scoreless normal time finish. Also, Ol Skool Ballers edged Broad Street 2-1.

Tiger Bay’s Jason Fredericks (black) attempting to win possession of the ball from a Silver Bullets player during their elimination matchup at the National Gymnasium in the inaugural Guinness ‘Cage’ Football Championship.

Roy Cassou and Darrell Quallis netted in the eighth and 10th minute each. For the loser, Akosi Jervis netted in the sixth minute. Similarly, Showstoppers needled Tucville 1-0.

Thomas separated the two teams with an 11th minute conversion. Meanwhile, regular heavyweights Sparta Boss, Albouystown-A, Future Stars, Gold is Money, Tigerbay, Leopold Street, Back Circle and Champion Boys marched on into the group round.

Sparta Boss downed Vryheid’s Lust 2-0 through goals from Sheldon Shepherd and Gregory Richardson in the eighth and 10th minute, while Albouystown-A defeated Alexander Village 1-0.

Marlon Nedd scored in the third minute. Future Stars continued their meteoric rise in the street football ranks, downing Agricola Gas Team 1-0 on penalty kicks, following a 1-1 score at the end of normal time.

Keron Solomon equalised for the eventual winner in the eighth minute, after Agricola Gas Team took the lead in the fourth minute through Nehemiah Gomes.

Gold is Money made light work of Campbellville 2-0. Jamal Haynes and Carl Tudor scoring in the sixth and eighth minute respectively.

Tiger Bay defeated Silver Bullets 2-1. Deon Alfred scored in the fourth and 10th minute for the winner, while Jermaine Samuels netted for the loser in the sixth minute.

Leopold Street sealed their berth to the next round via a 5-4 victory on sudden death penalty kicks, after regulation time ended 1-1.

Orandel Williams scored in the third minute for Leopold Street, while Vincent Thomas netted in the ninth minute. Back Circle squeaked past New Market Street 2-1 on penalty kicks.

New Market Street took the lead in the ninth minute through Dwayne Lowe, only for Andy Duke to equalize in the 12th minute. Champion Boys dismissed Channel-9 Warriors 2-0.

Lloyd Matthews and Mario Eastman in the second and fifth minute apiece.

Hustlers downed Bent Street 1-0 through a Daniel Ross fourth minute effort, while North Ruimveldt edged Melanie 1-0 compliments of a Gerald Gittens fifth minute strike.

Also, Albouystown-B defeated West Back Road via walkover. The event resumes today at the same venue with eight group matches. At 19:00hrs, Albouystown-B battles North Ruimveldt, while MBK All-Stars opposes Leopold Street from 19:30hrs and Hustlers tackle Tigerbay at 20:00hrs.

The fourth fixture will pit Albouystown-A against Showstoppers at 20:30hrs, while Gold is Money face off with Mocha at 21:00hrs and Future Stars tackle Pike Street at 21:30hrs.

In the final two fixtures, Back Circle tackles Champion Boys at 22:00hrs and Sparta Boss opposes Ol Skool Ballers from 22:30hrs.

Group-A features Sparta Boss, Albouystown-B, Ol Skool Ballers and North Ruimveldt, while Group-B consists of Gold is Money, Tigerbay, Mocha and Hustlers.

Group-C comprises Back Circle, Champion Boys, MBK All-Stars and Leopold Street, while Future Stars, Albouystown-A, Pike Street Sophia and Showstoppers make up group-D.

Following the end of the round-robin stage, the top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the quarterfinal.

The complete list of the event sponsors are Star Party Rentals, Faye Joseph, Claude Geddes Recreational Sports Club, National Sports Commission, Windjammer International Hotel & Cuisine, Woodpecker Trophies & Sport, Y.K Investments & Pawn Shop, Henry Chase, Jai Signs, Trophy Stall of Bourda Market and John Fernandes Ltd.

Around the Web