Top local T20 players to be shortlisted for Antigua & Barbuda Independence tournament

-“Adams, Foo, Beaton in the fray” – Chairman of Selection Panel

With Guyana set to participate in the 2017 Antigua and Barbuda annual Independence T20 tournament, preparation is now the focus.

With that in mind, Chairman of the Senior National Selection Panel, Rayon Griffith, indicated to Stabroek Sport that the panel is intent on shortlisting 18 of Guyana’s top T20 players to begin preparations for the week-long event.

“We haven’t had much T20 competitions going around [Guyana] but we will have to have [shortlist] at least 18 guys who we believe are our top T20 players in the country and that includes some of the players out from the academy and the contract set up,” the former national fast bowler indicated.

A few consistent performers, according to Griffith, are strong prospects for selection while the composition of the squad may also hinge around players who are likely to be selected for West Indies ‘A’ team duties.

“Players like Anthony Adams, who has been showing some good form, Jonathan Foo, Ronsford Beaton, who played for the Trinbago Knightriders and some other players as well who have been proving themselves,” he said.

“Definitely, we want to have them together after which we will select the final 14 that will represent Guyana in the Antigua Independence Cup.”

Griffith explained that it is the intention to have the squad ideally prepared for the annual slug out in order for the players, not only to represent Guyana well but also for them to give a good account of themselves, which may bolster their chances of being selected in other T20 leagues.

From all indications, the squad will be flooded with all-rounders for which Guyana is not short of these days. The likes of Sherfane Rutherford and Romario Shepherd could feature alongside the experienced talisman, Christopher Barnwell and the gifted, Keemo Paul.

Possible 18: Robin Bacchus, Christopher Barnwell, Gajanand Singh, Leon Johnson (if available), Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Keemo Paul, Anthony Bramble, Bhaskar Yadram, Jonathan Foo, Anthony Adams, Ronsford Beaton, Steven Jacobs, Keon Joseph (if available), Veersammy Permaul, Devendra Bishoo, Paul Wintz and Ricardo Adams.

Trevon Griffith and Assad Fudadin were not considered since they are contracted elsewhere in the region.

Around the Web