Hetmyer, Campbell win top GCB awards 

Shimron Hetmyer

Shimron Hetmyer, the highly regarded 20-year-old test batsman, was last evening announced as the Guyana Cricket Board’s (GCB) male cricketer of the year at the annual ceremony held at the Umana Yana, Georgetown. Shamaine Campbell won the female award.

Hetymer, the 310th West Indian test player who made his debut in April of this year against his touring Pakistani counterparts, continues to progress at the international level. He has so far played five test matches with his best return being 66 against New Zealand in the recently concluded bilateral series down under.

The winning under – 19 World Cup captain, the first West Indian to achieve that feat, also showed promising signs during the Windies tour of England where he made an unbeaten 128 against Leicester for which he was showered with praises from current West Indies Head Coach Stuart Law, who described him as “one hell of a talent.”

Shamaine Campbell

Hetmyer was not on hand to collect his award since he is still on international duties after being called up as a replacement player for the injured Sunil Ambris for the Windies’ ongoing one-day international series against New Zealand.

Others considered for the award were leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo, who also had an impressive year where he snared 25 scalps from seven matches with his best match haul being 9 – 184 against Zimbabwe in a series where he was adjudged the player of the series.

Fellow Jaguars player Raymon Reifer, who made his debut in the recently concluded test series against New Zealand was also considered.

The female cricketer of the award went to the experienced 25-year-old Campbell who continues to wear the tag of the leading lady in female cricket in Guyana. Others considered for that award were Tremayne Smartt and Subrina Munroe.

Other top awardees on the evening saw 43– year-old West Indian legend Shivnarine Chanderpaul walking away with ‘Senior’ regional cricketer of the year award. Chanderpaul’s aggregate of 622 runs with a best of 143, topped the Jaguars batting chart in 2016/17 regional first tournament while compiling 199 runs in the Regional one-day tournament.

Keemo Paul, for his impressive returns, was named the most improved cricketer in a year. West Indies under–19 selectee, Bhaskar Yadram who will be part of the young Windies unit for their 2018 ICC under – 19 world cup title defence in New Zealand, earned himself the Junior Cricketer of the year award.

Shabeka Gajnabi, who led Guyana to their maiden regional under – 19 title won the most promising female cricketer of year award.

Essequibo’s Sheldon Charles had his hands full after earning recognition for his stellar performances in the 2017 regional under–15 tournament where he topped both the batting and bowling charts on his way to securing the most valuable player award. He earned prizes for all three fetes.

Kevlon Anderson (MVP), and most wickets awardee and West Indies under – 15 captain Sachin Singh (most runs) were the under – 17 awardees.

Similarly, Raymond Perez, who had a prolific run in this year’s regional under 19 tournament with the bat after scoring 545 runs in the one-day version of the competition, was awarded for his showing. His Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) teammate, Ashmead Nedd; 32 wickets with a best of 7 – 20 to bowl Guyana to a fourth consecutive title, was rewarded for his bowling exploits.

The board also awarded and recognized Hand in Hand, Scotiabank, Dave West Indian Export and Sterling Products for their corporate support.

Special awards were given to the Tuschen Sports Club, Bharrat Sookdeo, Jaguars coaching staff Rayon Griffith and Esuan Crandon. Rajiv Bisnauth – best print journalist and Grantley Culbard and Daniel Richmond for their continued contribution to the development of the sport were also recognised.

Cricket West Indies President, Dave Cameron attended the ceremony.

Around the Web