Kissoon bowls Omesh XI to West Dem title

Omesh XI Sunday reached the playoffs of the Unity Cup T1o tournament with a five wicket win over Crossbreeds at Zeeburg in the final of the West Demerara leg.

They were indebted somewhat to Vickram Kissoon who picked up a five-wicket haul.

Omesh XI won the toss and decided to give Crossbreeds first strike. Crossbreeds were bundled out for 87 with Mahendra Persaud, who came in to bat at number six, top scoring with a brisk 44.

His innings included three sixes and two fours while Avenash Da Silva supported with 26.

Kissoon picked up 5-4 from his almost unplayable two overs while Vickram Shiranga bagged 3-9 and Michael Manthura 2-16.

In reply, Rayan Ramlakan stroked five sixes in his innings of 44 before being bowled by Da Silva while Lincoln Leander’s knock of 18 was enough to see them lift the title.

Earlier, Omesh XI earned a walkover in the semifinal after being booked to play Speedboat XI while Crossbreeds defeated V&R by 90 runs.

Crossbreeds batted first, posting 147-5 in their 10 overs.

Danesh Seepersaud, Kevin Rajnarine and Mahendra Persaud all smashed five sixes each in their quick-fire innings of 40, 30 and 39 respectively.

Zaheer Khan was the most expensive bowler, travelling for 32 runs in his one over.

In the chase, V&R never got their wheels turning as only Zaman Azeez got into double figures for a hard pressed 16 but he was unfortunately run out.

Twenty three of the 57 runs scored came from the bat with Naresh Shaw returned figures of 3-11 from 10 balls while Mahendra Hubbard and Rajnarine picked up 2-2 and 2-8 respectively.

Around the Web