Rose’s 41 points is the highest by a Guyanese at the Caricom C/ships

Stanton Rose

Eighteen-year-old Guyanese basketball sensation, Stanton Rose, recreated history Monday night at the CARICOM Basketball Championships currently underway in neighbouring Suriname.

The Guyana skipper, whose 41 points ensured that his team remained unbeaten in the championships and maintained their unbeaten record against St. Vincent and the Grenadines,

in the process, also became the highest individual scorer for Guyana at the CBC level.

Rose eclipsed the previous highest score by a Guyanese of 38 points scored by DC Jammers’ Kerron McKenzie against the same opponents in 2011 at the Kennedy Isaacs Gymnasium in Nassau, Bahamas.

Guyana won that clash by 93 points to 64.

In 2014, Guyana also defeated St. Vincent and the Grenadines 86 to 72.  Former NBA professional Rawle Marshall led from the front with 28 points while Ray Victor supported the skipper with 22 points.

Gordon Klaiber added 14 points and Andrew `Mr Dunk’ Ifill 11 points.

Below are the players with 40 plus points performance in the CARICOM Basketball Championships.

 Brian John –Trinidad, 40 points vs Suriname, National Sports Hall 1981.

Andrew Kennedy – Jamaica, 45 points vs Martinique 1985, Barbados.

Rumeal Robinson- Jamaica, 40 points vs Trinidad and Tobago, Jean Pierre Complex, 1996.

Stanton Rose, 41 points vs St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Anthony Nesty Sports Hal, Paramaribo, Suriname.

Meanwhile, Rose and his troops obviously buoyed by the St. Vincent victory, will take on St. Lucia in their next assignment.

The last time Guyana engaged St. Lucia was in July, 1996 at the 13th Caricom Championship in Trinidad and Tobago. Guyana, on that occasion was led by Raven’s Lugard Rohan.

Playing at the St. Paul’s Gymnasium, Guyana, backed by some awesome shooting from Rawlwin Loncke 12 points, Centre Lorenzo Withrite 14 points , Dane Kendall 12 points  and  Orin `Baby’ Mohan 12 points, destroyed St. Lucia 86 to 63.

The 1996 Team that humbled St. Lucia:

Lugard Mohan –Captain, Ravens

Orin Mohan – Ravens

Rawlwin Loncke- Pacesetters

Lancelot Loncke- Globetrotters

Remington Ram- Globetrotters

Lorenzo Withrite – Colts

Dane Kendall-Colts

Robert Cadogan – Pacesetters

Don Fletcher- Eagles

Wayne Bristol- D.C Jammers

Steven Nurse- D.C Jammers

Pierre Goddette- D.C Jammers

Theron  Ceasar- Coach

Around the Web