Kuru Kururu Warriors upset Diamond Upsetters

Members of the Kuru-Kururu Warriors side, celebrating what proved to the winning goal against host Diamond Upsetters at the Diamond Community Centre ground.

Kuru-Kururu Warriors and Grove Hi-Tech secured contrasting wins when the East Bank Football Association [EBFA] Senior Knockout Championships commenced last  weekend at the Diamond Community Center ground.

Kuru-Kururu Warriors upset Diamond Upsetters by a 2-1 scoreline in what was a cagey and scrappy encounter.

The Warriors took the lead against the home side when  Sherwin Henry found the back of the net in the 11thminute.

Henry handed the Warriors the lead on 11 minutes in a match that both sides looked scratchy in the opening exchanges.

However, the hosts responded in sublime manner to equalise compliments of a Jamal Thomas conversion in the 41st minute to send the crowd into a frenzy.

It was a moment of individual brilliance as Thomas uncorked a powerful free kick into the back of the net, past National Beach Football custodian Ethan Spearman.

However, the celebrations proved to be short-lived as Wezlon Henry etched his name on the scorer’s sheet five minutes onward.

Meanwhile, it was a senior debut to forget for the Samatta Point/Kaneville side who were whipped 14-0 by the rampant hosts in front of a sizeable crowd on Saturday.

 Grove Hi-Tech was in a rampant mood, as eight players recorded their name on the scorer’s sheet led by national player Kevin Padmore Jr.

 The utility man tallied a hat-trick in the seventh, 30th and 60th minute to lead the rout of their opponents.

 He was assisted by two goals each from Joel Dick, Denzil Crawford and Marvin Squires while Tyrell Khan, Nicholai Matthews, Akeem James and Tyrone Primo netted once respectively.

 Also, Hauraruni Eagles and Herstelling Raiders gained walkovers from  Swan FC and Friendship All-Stars respectively to seal their berths in the next round.

 The event continues this weekend at the same venue. On Saturday, Mocha Champs tackle Soesdyke Falcons from 14:00hrs, while the feature contest will pit Agricola Red Triangle against Diamond United from 16:00hrs.

On Sunday, Timehri Panthers will face-off with Hauraruni Eagles from 15:00hrs in the solitary fixture. The top two teams from the tournament will advance to the Guyana Football Federation [GFF] Year-End Super 16 Championship.


Around the Web