Williamson “miffed” over action being reported

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, CMC – Part-time off-spinner Kane Williamson is said to be “miffed” at having his action reported to the International Cricket Council.

The New Zealander was reported by umpires for having a suspected illegal action, following the second Test against West Indies in Port of Spain which the hosts won by ten wickets.“He [Williamson] realises he’s not the only player in the world who has a suspected illegal bowling action so he’s a little bit miffed because he’s been doing the same thing for a couple of years,” said Blacks Caps head coach Mike Hesson said.“

If that’s the case and they want to clamp down, then all players and coaches want is a level of consistency.” Umpires raised concern over a number of deliveries by Williamson following the contest at Queen’s Park Oval, and he will now have his action tested within 21 days, as per ICC stipulations.

However, he will be allowed to continue bowling until the results of the tests are known. Williamson sent down 14 overs during the second Test, taking a single wicket.

 

 



Join the Conversation

After you comment, click Post. If you're not already logged in you will be asked to log in or register.

The Comments section is intended to provide a forum for reasoned and reasonable debate on the newspaper's content and is an extension of the newspaper and what it has become well known for over its history: accuracy, balance and fairness. We reserve the right to edit/delete comments which contain attacks on other users, slander, coarse language and profanity, and gratuitous and incendiary references to race and ethnicity. We moderate ALL comments, so your comment will not be published until it has been reviewed by a moderator.