National awards ceremony to be held on October 21

The investiture ceremony for the 2011 National Awardees is scheduled for October 21 at the National Cultural Centre, the Government Information Agency (GINA) said last evening.

The list of National Awardees, which is headed by Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, who will be conferred with the Order of Excellence (OE), the nation’s highest award, was advertised in May. Other awardees include Minister of Legal Affairs Charles Ramson and acting Chancellor of the Judiciary Carl Singh, who will both be conferred with the Order of Roraima (OR) – the second highest award, GINA noted.

The late Dr Desrey Fox will be posthumously awarded the Cacique Crown of Honour, which will also be conferred on Bank of Guyana Governor Lawrence Williams, Chief Statistician Lennox Benjamin, Donna Yearwood, Clyde Roopchand, acting Chief Justice Ian Chang, GRA Commissioner-General Khurshid Sattaur, Professors Nigel Harris, Clement Sankat, Malcolm Parris, Phillip Moore, Miles Fitzpatrick and Clinton Collymore.

The Golden Arrow of Achievement (AA) will be conferred upon Dr Edward Green, of Caricom, Dr Cyril Solomon, former ambassador to Suriname Karshanjee Arjun, Thakur Danny Doobay, Brentnol Evans, Ambassador Elisabeth Harper, Brian Tiwari, Captain Gerald Gouveia, Deo Persaud, Alfro Alphonso, Chunilall Baboolall, Sean Hopkinson, Edmond Vieira, Glen Khan, Aubrey Stephenson, Professor David Dabydeen, Dunstan Barrow, Carvil Duncan, Dr Arlington Chesney, and Swami Vidyanand.

The Medal of Service (MS) will be conferred upon Yvonne Hinds, Dorothy Faria, Diane Ferreira James, Nicolette Fernandes, Victor Ferreira, Winslow Craig, Ameena Gafoor, Stephanie Fraser, Don Gomes, Hugh Ross, Michael Charles, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Dr Vindhya Persaud, James Wren Gilkes, June Griffith, Aliann Pompey, Andrew Lewis, Michael Parris, Elfrieda Bissember, Frank Woon-a-Tai, Paloma Mohamed, Phil Gajedhar, Al Creighton, Egbert Carter, Shirley Edwards, Parbhu Dyal Sattan, Yvonne Pearson, Juan Edghill, George Subraj, Ramnarine Ramroop, Indra Chandarpal, Randy Choo-She-Nam, Derek Williams, Vibert de Souza, Reuben Gilbert, Aleema Nasir, Gharpaul Persaud, John Palmer, Jenny Ribeiro, Irene Wilson, Pooran Persaud, Joycelyn Anderson, Desiree Wyles-Ogle, Yvonne Raghoo, Mohandatt Goolsarran, Juliet Persico, Dr Faye Clarke, Ann Greene, Ulric Donald Jacobs, Mohamed Osman Ali, Wilfred Success, Yvonne Hercules, Maydha Persaud, Deeneshwar Persaud, Monica Fraser-Carmichael, Ramdat Nandkishore, Colleen Anderson, Marva Hawker, Dr Holly Alexander, Panday Persaud, Cedric Smith, Richard Verbeke, Ramsahai Ramnarine (Hardat), Ramesh Ramlakhan, David Mangra and Keith Emmanuel Crawford.

For the military top honours, Commodore Gary Best will receive the Military Service Star (MSS), while Colonel Bruce Lovell is to be accorded the Military Service Medal (MSM), along with Colonel Mark Phillips, Captain John Flores, Captain George Lewis, Lieutenant Colonel Francis Abraham, Commander Godfrey George, Lieutenant Colonel Windee Algernon, Lieutenant Colonel Khemraj Persaud and Lieutenant Colonel Enoch Gaskin.

For the Disciplined Ser-vices top honours, Commis-sioner of the Guyana Police Force (GPF), Henry Greene will be awarded the Disciplined Services Star (DSS), while Assistant Commissioners Leroy Brummel, Seelall Persaud, Gavin Primo and George Vyphius, along with Chief Fire Officer Marlon Gentle and Senior Superintendent of Prisons, Colin Howard will receive the Disciplined Services Medal (DSM).

Meanwhile, GINA said Group Awards for the Medal of Service (MS) will go to Help and Shelter, Food for the Poor, Sisters of Mercy, the Guyana Relief Council, the Salvation Army Guyana Division, Phoenix Recovery, Mothers in Black, the National Library, the Guyana Women’s Artists Association, President’s Youth Award, Kashif and Shanghai and the Indian Cultural and Social Organisation of West Demerara.
The ceremony will begin at 1 pm, GINA said.

Around the Web