BCB names team for U17 Inter-County tournament

The junior selection committee of the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) met last Wednesday and named 15 players for the upcoming Guyana Cricket Board (GCB)  Cellink Under-17 Inter County tournament.

Chairman Leslie Solomon along with Moses Samlall, Patrick Lewis and Randolph Latcha selected the team following the conclusion of the Amerally Sawmill (Memorex) and the Republic Bank inter-zone Under-17 tournaments.

According to a release from the BCB, the team will be involved in another Junior Elite Programme.

The 15 players named are: Shimron Hetmyer, Quacy Mc Pherson, Nicholas Cameron, Arif Chan, Sharaz Ramcharran, Shailendra Shameer,  Viendra Gooniah, Daniel Lewis, Derek Narine, Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, Hakeem Hinds (wicket-keeper), Suresh Dhanai, Nick Ramsaroop, Nial Smith and Grisean Grant. And the stand-bys named are Waqar Mc Kenzie, Madan Boodram, Joseph Giddings, Bryan Nurse and Devin Baldeo.

Orvin Mangru of Albion is the manager and former West Indies Under19 captain, Andre Percival, the coach.

Public Relations Officer of the BCB, Hilbert Foster, stated that the team would undergo a series of training and coaching sessions including physical fitness sessions prior to the commencement of the competition.

Around the Web