Rose Hall and Port Mourant to square off Saturday

Archrivals and neighbours Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets (RHTGG) and Port Mourant Karibee Rice (PMKR) will square off on Saturday at the Area H Ground in the final of the 8th annual RHTYSC Busta Champion of Champions tournament.

The tournament was organised by the Cricket Development Committee (CDC) of the RHTYSC and sponsored by the Guyana Beverage Company (GBC). RHTYSC defeated Skeldon and Blairmont on their way to the finals while PMKR defeated Bermine and Edinburgh. RHTYSC will go into the match missing senior players Assad Fudadin, Royston Crandon, Esuan Crandon and Clinton Pestano but they are still considered favourites on their home turf.

RHTYSC won the tournament six times and Port Mourant once.

The home team will be led by 16-year-old Shawn Perriera, with the batting centred around the experienced Renwick Batson, Delbert Hicks, Eon Hooper, Jason Sinclair, Khemraj Mahadeo, Dominic Rikhi, Rajiv Ivan, Arif Chan, Loyden Lewis and Shailendra Shameer. Batson will also spearhead the bowling with support from off spinners Hooper, Ivan, Shameer, Lewis, Mahadeo and leg spinners Ravi Narine and Perriera. Port Mourant will have their work cut out for them against the unbeaten RHTGG. PMKR will be led by Yogweshwar Harrinarine with Bougnarine Persaud as his deputy. The batting would depend heavily on opener Devendra Thakuradeen, the in-form Shastri Persaud, Shamer Khan, Hoomchand Pooran and Andre Percival.

On a pitch suitable to spin, the visitors should be looking to left arm spinner Robert Moore, off spinner Percival, Rajendra Bolo, Thahuradeen and leg spinner Shameer Khan, along with the skipper who bowls medium pace.

The match starts at 09:30 hours and officials of the sponsors and the organisers would meet both teams before the game. The winner is expected to take home $80,000 and the Busta Cup while the runner-up will pocket $50,000; and the Man-of-the-finals will win $10,000.

Umpires for the match are Zakeer and Imran Moakan, along with Rafeek Latiff as the third official.

RHTGG: Renwick Batson, Delbert Hicks, Jason Sinclair, Khemraj Mahadeo, Dominic Rikhi, Eon Hooper, Rajiv Ivan, Shawn Perriera (captain), Clinton Pestano, Loyden Lewis, Shailendra Shameer, Ravi Narine, Arif Chand and Lenny Sanichar.

Port Mourant: Yogeshwar Harrinarine (capt), Davendra Thakuradeen, Shastri Persaud, Chandradas Karran Arjune, Bougnarine Persaud, Rajendra Bolo, Shameer Khan, Manoj Looknauth, Robert Moore, Hoomchand Pooran, Tony McKenzie, Mahendra Veersammy, Boasham Deolall, Andre Percival, Roopnarine Ramgobin and Pooran Deedidyal.

Around the Web