West Demerara win DCB U19 inter-association tournament

West Demerara played unbeaten to win the Demerara Cricket Board (DCB) Inter Association Under 19 limited overs competition following final round matches on Monday.

In a tournament usually dominated by Georgetown and East Coast teams, West Demerara beat East Bank by six wickets to complete their change of fortunes on Monday at Wales.

    Tagenarine Chanderpaul
Tagenarine Chanderpaul

Sent in after losing the toss, East Bank were precariously placed at 13/5 in the rain affected encounter which forced the match to be reduced to 45-overs-a-side before Ryan Shun, who top scored with 54, and Stephan Brown (14) combined for a sixth wicket stand of 65.

Shun, who plays club cricket in Georgetown, stroked five fours while Amir Khan supported with 26 to lift East Bank to a more respectable 140-8.

Pacer Kevin Paul claimed 4-49 from and Travis Persaud 1-16.

West Demerara in reply reached 19/1 after 5.3 overs of their chase when rain forced the players off the field. The home team was set a revised target of 62 from 20 overs which they duly achieved in 16.1 overs, although they lost four wickets in the process.

Chandrika Persaud and Rickey Hinds made 16 each with Hinds remaining unbeaten.  Stephan Brown and Deonarine Seegobin each took a wicket. At Bourda, East Coast overcame a disappointing Georgetown team performance in winning by two wickets. Morning showers had caused the start of play to be delayed, and the match was subsequently reduced to 35-overs-a-side. Georgetown batted first and posted a competitive 160-4

With national player Tagenarine Chanderpaul hitting an accomplished 74 not out. Chanderpaul and Anthony Bhupdeo put together 35 for the first wicket but miscommunication between the two resulted in Bhupdeo being run out for 10.

Brian Sattaur
Brian Sattaur

Martin Pestano-Bell and Chanderpaul took the score to 45 before Bell was also run out for five. Georgetown then lost Andrew Gibson for four before Chanderpaul and Vishal Narayan stabilized the innings with a partnership of 38.

Yougeshwar Dhanraj removed Narayan for 18 but Chanderpaul and Kemol Savory added an unbeaten fifth wicket stand of 72 to take Georgetown to their eventual score.

Chanderpaul slammed six fours and one six in scoring 74 not out while Savory was not out on 36 which contained one four and three sixes. Leg spinner Kamesh Yadram and Dhanraj each took one wicket.

Devon Lord
Devon Lord

Left handed opener Brian Sattaur gave East Coast a positive start as they reached 30/1 after seven overs when rain caused another interruption. Upon resumption they were set a revised target of 91 in 20 overs.

Off spinner Narayan and left arm spinner Devon Lord managed to pull things back with consistent bowling. Lord provided a breakthrough for Georgetown when had Sattaur caught at cover for 32 (4×4, 1×6) before Narayan removed Yadram cheaply. East Coat then lost a few more quick wickets before Ranjeet Hiralall showed cool temperament as he took his team home with an unbeaten 26 (4×4). Mark Hamilton was not out on 02 as East Coast finished on 94-8 in 19.2 overs. Narayan snatched 3-17, and Lord 2-12 while Bernard Bailey, Steven Sankar and Chanderpaul took one wicket each.

Around the Web