Floodlights continue winning ways with victory over Parika Defenders

Ricky Deonarain, left, and Shawn Massiah after a fine unbeaten partnership that led their team to victory. 

Sensible batting by Shawn Massiah led a Floodlights XI to a convincing six-wicket win over Parika Defenders in a specially arranged T20 match under lights at the Demerara Cricket Club ground last Friday night. He was supported by Patrick Khan with 33 and Ricky Deonarain with an unbeaten 25.

In the bowling department, he got support from Anil Beharry with 3 for 10.

The visitors won the toss and chose to take first strike in excellent weather for cricket. They lost opener M. Chatram for a duck and M. Balgobin for three.

Jerome Basdeo joined the other opener Dubraj Singh and together they put together a fine partnership of 103 runs for the third wicket. They blasted the bowling all over the park and led their team to the eventual total of 149 for 6 off their allotted 20 overs.

Singh made 60 and Basdeo 45.

Bowling for Floodlights XI, Beharry took 3 for 10. Surendra Nauth and Khalid Baksh took a wicket each while young Romeo Deonarain bowled economically without taking a wicket.

In reply, the host team lost openers Yusuf Uniss and Rabindra Singh both without scoring. Massiah and Khan then added a third-wicket partnership of 58 before the latter went for 33.

Rakesh Arjune came and went quickly for two. Ricky Deonarain then joined Massiah and took full control of the game adding an unbeaten fifth wicket partnership of 68 taking their team home with 5 balls to spare. Massiah ended on 59 not out earning the Man-of-the-Match award while Deonarain ended on 25 not out. Bowling for the visitors, Basdeo completed a fine all round performance taking 3 for 34 off 4 overs.


Jaguars complete innings, 81 runs pounding of Red Force 

Guyana Jaguars yesterday completed a resounding innings and 81 runs victory over the Trinidad and Tobago Red Force on the final day of the Cricket West Indies (CWI) regional four-day first-class season at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence.

By ,

Trophy Stall doubles winners receive prizes

Winners of the seventh annual Trophy Stall doubles championships received their prizes last Friday at the grand Guyana Tennis Association 2017 annual Awards Ceremony.

George, Hooper named AAG male, female athletes of the year

There were no surprises as two-time Olympian Winston George and Natrena Hooper were named the Senior Male and Female Athletes-of-the-Year for 2017.

Marques gains UD win over Arias

The ascension of Dexter ‘De Kid’ Marques in the world flyweight ranks continued on Saturday night at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall.

Vickery honoured by GTA, donates equipment to players

By Noelle Smith World ranked tennis player Sachia Vickery was Friday honoured by the Guyana Tennis Association (GTA) and showed her appreciation by giving back to the GTA and a  bevy of young players through a donation of tennis equipment.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

We built stabroeknews.com using new technology. This makes our website faster, more feature rich and easier to use for 95% of our readers.
Unfortunately, your browser does not support some of these technologies. Click the button below and choose a modern browser to receive our intended user experience.

Update my browser now