Mayors, Deputies have responsibility to serve all regardless of political affiliation  -President Granger

President David Granger (sixth from right) with the mayors and deputy mayors (Ministry of the Presidency photo)

President David Granger on Wednesday advised the newly-elected and re-elected Mayors and Deputy Mayors of their responsibility to serve all their constituents regardless of their political affiliation.

According to a release from the Ministry of the Presidency (MoTP), the head of state, who was speaking at the swearing in ceremony of the mayors and their deputies at State House, also reminded the administrative leaders of the nine capital towns that it is the people who will ultimately determine their fate, and of their role as leaders in the process of transforming the towns into centres of commerce and industry and to provide the services of the state to the people.   

“The Government of Guyana functions at three levels; national, regional and local. All three levels must collaborate to ensure the efficient delivery of public services to our citizens. All three levels must be competent in order to ensure good governance. Capital towns are located at the local level of our system of Government. They play a pivotal role in animating development at the regional level. Town Councils, effectively administered, will help build strong regions,” Granger was quoted as saying in the MoTP release.

According to the statement, the President called on Town Councils to retool their administrative systems to become the engines of enterprise, employment and economic development.  He noted that capital towns are the main centres of commerce and industry, the principal ports or terminals of international trade, the seats of public administration and the main settlements of their population.

“Regional Councillors, regardless of the political affiliation, must work collectively for the common good of their municipality and their region. Regional chambers of commerce must be encouraged to function; regional agricultural and commercial exhibitions must attract investment,” the president was quoted, as saying.

With the 2018 Local Government Elections on the horizon, Granger said that his Government will ensure that Local Government continues to function in the interest of the people and empowers ordinary citizens to more increasingly become involved in the administration of their own communities.

“Regular municipal and mayoral elections promote democratic renewal.  Municipal elections, held in March 2016, will be held again this year. These elections will afford citizens the right to determine who administers their towns and how.  Mayors and Deputy Mayors … [must] act in the interests of their constituents, consult their constituents and citizens in the decision-making processes which are likely to affect their well-being and conduct their duties, at all times, in accordance with the Constitution and the Laws of Guyana and remain faithful to their oath of office,” the President was quoted as saying in the MoTP release.

The Mayors who were sworn in were  Patricia Chase-Green (Georgetown),  Rabindranauth Mohan (Anna Regina),  Gifford Marshall (Bartica),  Kerry Jarvis (Lethem),  Krishnand Jaichand (Corriverton),  Waneka Arrindell (Linden), Henry Smith (Mabaruma),  Winifred Heywood (New Amsterdam) and Vijay Ramoo (Rose Hall).

Darshan Persaud (Anna Regina),  Nageshwari Lochanprasad (Bartica),  Akeem Peter (Georgetown),  Maxine Ann Welch Hendricks (Lethem),  Wainewright Bethune (Linden),  Astrille Gamell (Mabaruma),  Compton Grant (New Amsterdam) and Dave Budhu (Rose Hall) were sworn in as the Deputy Mayors.

Around the Web