George, Hooper named AAG male, female athletes of the year

The recipients of the AAG’s award ceremony posing with their spoils on Saturday night at the Umana Yana in Kingston. (Orlando Charles photo)

There were no surprises as two-time Olympian Winston George and Natrena Hooper were named the Senior Male and Female Athletes-of-the-Year for 2017.

The pair earned the accolades when the Athletic Association of Guyana (AAG) held their annual award ceremony Saturday night at the Umana Yana in Kingston.

George, Guyana’s fastest quarter miler of all time, won the prestigious award ahead of triple jump record holder, Troy Doris and national javelin record holder, Leslain Baird after lowering his 400m record last year at the National Track and Field Centre. During his 2017 campaign, the 31year-old also took gold at the South American Senior Championships and finished the year ranked #11 in the 200m event.

George, is currently on the US track and field circuit and was unable to attend the function.

Hooper was unavoidably absent also since she is currently on a scholarship in Jamaica.

National javelin record holder, Tenisha Cort took the runner up award for the female athlete-of-the-year.

Other winners at the elegantly-casual dressed event included: Natricia Hooper (best junior female athlete), Compton Caesar (best junior male), Daniel Williams (best youth male) and Chantoba Bright (best youth female).

Onasha Rogers, middle and long distance dynamo, Anfernee Headecker, sprinter, Jermaine King and track prodigies, Kenisha Phillips and Claudrice McKoy were the respective runners up behind the four winners.

Johnny Gravesande, who coaches Williams, Bright and others was named Coach-of-the-Year. During the event, AAG’s president, Aubrey Huston gave a brief overview of the year while President of the Guyana Olympic Association, K. Juman-Yassin made brief congratulatory remarks while encouraging the athletes to surpass their 2017 performances.

Coach, Glenton Pantlitz was the recipient of the President’s Award while sponsors of meets on the AAG’s annual calendar were presented with plaques.

The programme concluded with a vote of thanks by Nial Stanton.

Around the Web