Rutherford returns unopposed as cricket umpires association head

The newly-elected body of the Georgetown Cricket Umpires and Scorers Association

Arleigh Rutherford has returned to the helm of the Georgetown Cricket Umpires and Scorers Association  (GCUSA) with the promise to build on the foundations set.

At the elections held on Thursday at Union Hall Building, Woolford Avenue, Rutherford was re-elected unopposed and will have Delvin Austin as his deputy.

Karen Bobb-Semple Weatherspoon will serve as secretary of the organisation along with Kelvin Morris as the Treasurer and Stephon Josiah as the Assistant Secretary/Treasurer.

Ravishwer Lattif will function in the capacity of Public Relations Officer and the committee members include Guyana Cricket Board Territorial Development Officer and former West Indies cricketer, Colin Stuart, former vice-president of the GCUSA and former Headmaster of Essequibo Islands Secondary, Moses Ramnarine, Heuvel Cunha and Deon Feassal.

In his charge for the new year, Rutherford who serves in the capacity of Match Referee expressed his gratitude to those who established the organisation and encouraged all to look upon the sacrifices and hard work done by them in order to see their vision realised.

He explained that in the past term, the GCUSA has built closer relations with the cricketing fraternity with continuous umpiring education with the likes of Reon King and Guyana Jaguars captain, Leon Johnson being involved.

Rutherford also stated that the body has been assisting umpires to elevate themselves by sitting the regional examinations while for the new year will look to better attend to scorers while trying to enlist more persons to come on board.

Around the Web