Slingerz FC, Pele set for explosive showdown

Heavyweight matches will highlight the start of the League Finale section in the GFF Stag Beer Elite League as Slingerz FC tackles Pele and Alpha United oppose Fruta Conquerors today at the Camp Ayanganna ground.

Although both matches are expected to be keenly contested, the feature contest at 20:30hrs between League Genesis winner Slingerz FC and the aforesaid round third place finisher Pele is expected to steal the show.

Daniel Wilson
Daniel Wilson
Trevon Lythcott
Trevon Lythcott

The matchup will be their third meeting since the inception of the championship, with the Vergenoegen unit leading head-to-head with one win and a draw. The first meeting ended 1-1 while the most recent showdown resulted in a 3-0 win for Slingerz.

Due to their superior record, Slingerz will enter the fixture as the favourite. In attack, the West Demerara unit will have the likes of Devon Millington, Vurlon Mills, Tichard Joseph, Domini Garnette, Dexroy Adams and Julian Wade.

Despite losing several high-profile defensive players during the transfer window, Slingerz will have the services of Kester Joseph, Quincy Adams and Les Charles Critchlow to rely on.

On the other side, Pele will attempt to turn the tide of the rivalry and will look to their talisman of Gregory Richardson to lead an attacking line consisting of Konata Manning, Travis Grant, Deon Alfred and Omallo Williams.

Defensively, the towering and youthful centre half duo of Mark McLean and Jumane Somerset will be tasked with the responsibility of keeping their opponents’ attacking intent at bay.

Meanwhile, the opener will witness the resumption of a fierce rivalry when the youthful Fruta Conquerors outfit matches skill with national giant Alpha ‘the Hammer’ United from 18:00hrs.

The experienced Alpha United unit will possess the momentum going into the encounter following 2-0 wins in both of the previous encounters.

Offensively, Alpha United is led by a star-studded cast of Daniel Wilson, Delon Lanferman, William Europe, Dwight Peters, Dwain Jacobs, Kithson Bain and Anthony Abrams.

Vurlon Mills
Vurlon Mills
Gregory Richardson
Gregory Richardson

On the defensive end, Alpha United are equally as impressive following the arrival of Colin Nelson, Joshua Browne and Solomon Austin alongside the returning Chris Camacho and improving Sherwin Skeete.

With regards to the Tucville giant, the aim will be to reverse their recent fortunes come kick-off time.

On the attacking side, the acquisitions of Shaquille Agard, Jahaal Greaves, Okanie Fraser, Jamal Codrington and Hubert Pedro alongside Eon Alleyne, Jermin Junior and Dennis Edwards will provide the firepower needed.

From the defensive standpoint, captain Trevon Lythcott will lead a dogged unit consisting of Rafael Edwards, Adrian Adonis, Derick Carter, Reshawn Sandiford, Delon Williams, Travis Martin and Dwayne Lindie.

Winner of the League Finale round will pocket $4,000,000 while the second, third and fourth-placed teams will collect $2,000,000, $1,000,000 and $500,000 respectively. Similarly, the point’s leader prior to the knockout stage will pocket an additional $1,000,000.

The season champion will then be crowned when the winner of the League Genesis and League Finale respectively face off in a single match. That winner will then earn an automatic berth at the CFU level.

If the winner of the League Genesis and League Finale rounds are the same team, they will earn the automatic CFU spot, with the second berth going to the team with the most points in both rounds.



Around the Web